top of page

Who We Are - About Us


In 1931 The City of Jefferson formed a fire department which transitioned to Jefferson Fire District in 1956.   Jefferson Fire District currently provides fire and EMS services to about 86 square miles in southern Marion County and northern Linn County, which includes the communities of Jefferson, Talbot, and Millersburg.  The ambulance service area covers about 94 square miles, which include a portion of our neighboring fire district of Scio. The district currently has three fire stations located in Jefferson, Millersburg, and Talbot. Shared across the three stations are three fire engines, two water tenders, two brush units, heavy rescue unit, two ambulances, rescue boat, command unit, and two support vehicles.16


Jefferson Fire District is a diverse combination organization, made up of volunteers both in and out of district, resident volunteers, support group members and career personnel. These personnel help provide fire and emergency medical services. Other services provided by our fire district include fire suppression, emergency medical services with ambulance transportation, water rescue, hazardous materials response, fire prevention, fire safety education, and health education on injury and illness prevention.

The Jefferson Fire District also sponsors activities. Such at Super Sitter Classes, AARP Safe Driving Classes, and First Aid/CPR Instruction.   We also have several loan programs available to our community which include medical equipment, chimney brushes, and a life jacket station (available between the months of May through September). 


The operation of our fire district largely relies on our volunteer members.   Our members work within the district and/or may live outside of the district (known as an out of district volunteer ODV).   These members are willing to go through a training program, provided by the district, in order to become a member of the Jefferson Fire District.  


Anyone interested in volunteering, contact the fire district office@ 541-327-2822 or email Chelsea @

Board of Directors


As a body, the board of directors has a great deal of responsibility. The board of directors sets the direction, mission, tone and strategic vision for an organization, all of which must be done in keeping with the board’s fiduciary duties of obedience, care, and loyalty.  The Jefferson Rural Fire Protection District Board of Directors meet monthly on the Third Tuesday of the month. The meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. and are held at the Jefferson station which is located at 189 N. Main St. These meetings are open to the public with a time set aside for visitor input. Notices of these meetings are posted at the Jefferson, Millersburg, and Talbot stations.

Renee Gonzalez- #1
Exp. 6/30/2025

Becky McKibben – #2 Exp. 6/30/2023

David Jones – #3

Exp. 6/30/2023

Lisa Carter – #4 
Exp. 6/30/2025

William Linhart- #5

Exp. 6/30/2023

Appointed Budget Committee Members


The Budget Committee's principal responsibility is to develop a concurrent resolution on the budget to serve as the framework for the Jefferson Fire District's actions on spending, revenue, and debt-limit guidance.

 - Exp. 6/30/2024

Eileen Vetter – Exp. 6/30/2023

Roger Frank – Exp. 6/30/2023

Vince Cellerini- Exp. 6/30/2024

Ray Edwards – Exp. 6/30/2024


Our Staff


As a department, we are currently staffed with a part time Fire Chief, Full time Assistant Chief, Training Chief, EMS program manager, Administrative Assistant,


Levi Eckhardt
Fire Chief


Louis Gisler

Division Chief/EMT

Tammy Profile

Tammy Robbins Administrative Assistant/EMR

Rebecca Mangrum.jpg

Rebecca Mangrum
Office Support Firefighter/EMT


Stephanie McClung
EMS program Manager Engineer/Paramedic

McCallum, Paul.jpg

Paul McCallum


Shannon Larsen Firefighter/Paramedic

Bugle December.jpg

Chelsea Chavez
Recruitment and Retention Coordinator

Our Captains


Our Captains have a tremendous responsibility in not only directing our firefighters during emergency response, but to also assist with the administrative and personnel functions of the fire district. 


Scott Decker

Our Lieutenants


Our Lieutenants are the first line of management for our firefighters but also hold the responsibility of fireground management.


Antoni Halvardson Lieutenant/EMT Millersburg Station

Our Engineers and Firefighters

All of our Engineers and Firefighters are well trained and committed to excellence. Our Engineers are the drivers of our fire apparatus and manage the fire pump and water needs while our line firefighters manage the initial fire attack and fire ground operations including suppression and emergency medical services.  Our firefighters also work the ambulance part time

Samuel Aithwaite


James Clark



Alyssa Taylor

Tyler Arreguin


Bill Johnson
Acting Duty Officer


Dalton Keifer
Resident Firefighter/EMR

Guillermo Canate


Michael Garman


Evan McCullough

Chelsea Profile

Chelsea Chavez
Acting duty officer

Jake Harmon.jpg

Jake Harmon


Brandon Names.jpg

Brandon Names


Samatha O'Leary

Darin Colgan

Kailey Sousa.jpg

Kailey Sousa Firefighter/EMT

Misty Kastle


Jennifer Stanislaw


Eric Pineda

Angel Torres.jpg

Angel Torres

Alexis Williams

Our Medics


Our Medics respond to 911 calls for emergency medical assistance, such as cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) or bandaging a wound. Assess a patient's condition and determine a course of treatment. Provide first-aid treatment or life support care to sick or injured patients and transport patients safely in an ambulance.

Aileen Bono

Jefrey Holland

Lindsey Hartford

Erik  Peterson

Jay Hinderks

Scott Shepherd

Makenzie Hofmann

Megan Sonne

Tim Verdun

Our Support Team

Our Support Team provide an invaluable resource to our firefighters and community. They assist with providing much needed resources to our crews on incidents and support all of the other fire department functions that are community facing.

Ryan Campbell

Judy Cellerini

Becky Decker

Bernice Garman

Kathy Gisler

Deb Keehn

Dewey Robbins

Katherine Slover

bottom of page